Lost And Found

Today was quite traumatic.

I had taken the girls to the mall for the afternoon so Kaleb could work on his online classes. After I let them play in the kids play area, we ate lunch in the food court and they quickly let me know that they were over this outing. Crying, whining, breaking out of the straps to the stroller….you get the idea. I all but sprinted to the car and got them loaded up, only to find that the worst possible thing in the world had happened.
Abby’s blue puppy was missing! 

The puppy she carries with her everywhere. The puppy she sleeps with every night. Puppy, that can be seen in more than half of the pictures we take of her. 

I was instantly panicked. I didn’t dare try the stroller again, but knew we had to go back in and find puppy. I threw Anna in the Tula carrier on my back and carried Abby on my hip.

I looked like a crazy person. I was on the verge of tears and out of breath as I was literally speed walking through the mall retracing my steps. Abby was tired and screaming and I was frustrated so we had to end our search early. 

I loaded them up again, sat in the driver’s seat and sobbed. I’m talking ugly cry, moaning, you’d think someone just died kind of sobbing. I started praying and begging that God would lead Kaleb to puppy. At this point, I’d already called him and he volunteered to come back and search. I even said, “Lord, there’s nothing I’ve ever needed more!” 

Then God spoke to me in that moment and convicted me in the most loving way.

He asked, “When is the last time you have contended for something with such passion and drive as you are now about puppy?”

Wow. Ouch. Thank you, Lord.

He’s right. Why am I not on my face, crying out….sobbing…for salvation. For healings. For His presence. For the nations. For our country. For abortion to end. 

My excuses have to stop. “I just can’t get alone time away from the kids long enough.” Well today, I sobbed and prayed for puppy to be found with both girls in the backseat! Why shouldn’t they see me praying with such passion?

God is good and gets even better. Kaleb went back to the mall to search for puppy. About an hour later he called me to video chat. When I answered, who was on the screen?

Puppy đŸ™‚

If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. John 15:7


Leave a Reply

